snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Automobiles

Old 08 May 2007, 07:38 PM
Hypno Toad

Default Boost car remote's range with your head

I looked but couldn't this discusses anywhere here.

Boost Car Remote With Skull

From the video feedback it all looks legit. Anyone here verify this? (I would but I don't have a car remote...or a car).

HT
Old 08 May 2007, 07:47 PM
itypedformiles

this works - i use it all the time. it's kind of like using your head as an antenna. i don't know that opening your mouth when you do this helps any though, but i can say that it works with your mouth shut just as well.
Old 08 May 2007, 07:47 PM
wild1

I used to work as a Valet, this was an invaluable tool for helping find a car.

J.
Old 08 May 2007, 09:24 PM

I'm an electrical engineer but it has been 35 years since I studied antenna theory. Well maybe less than that since I recently got my ham radio license all the way to general class. I suppose it is possible that your body can act as a reflective plane for the radio waves. I don't think opening your mouth is required for that. Be a fun thing for Snopesters to field test. Just be careful who sees you doing it. You could be mistaken for a terrorist.
Old 08 May 2007, 10:15 PM

TV

I know that back in my old apartment, with rabbit-ears antenna TV only, I could dramatically affect (sometimes for the better, sometimes for the worse) simply by standing in different spots near the TV.

--Logoboros
Old 08 May 2007, 11:31 PM
Deepfrydegg

Driver

Oh yeah! I have done this a few times. Only problem I see is, I don't know if this test is absolute. Maybe the remote fob would work just fine, maybe your head really does boost signal.

I fail to see a controlled experiment, merely a demonstration of instance.
Old 09 May 2007, 12:28 AM