![]() |
|
#21
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: When I googled "Japanese Negotiators" + snopes I got a web page
with the same name as yours but a different format -- Q&A more or less or discussion. I don't know the correct technical term. Is it a part of your site or have I been "phished"? If so, what should I do? |
|
#22
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
1) Full name 2) Date of birth 3) Social Security Number 4) Current address 5) Banking information including Routing Number and Account Number for each of your accounts. 6) Credit card information including account number, expiration date and "Security Code" (this three digit code can be found on the back of your card). Send all of the above to photobob@gonephishing.com. Photo "I hope that's not a real domain name" Bob |
|
#23
|
|||
|
|||
|
Registered, but not active.
Nick |
|
#24
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?p=1289948
This site seems to be imitating yours to spread falsehoods when we, the public, search to fact check with snopes. |
|
#25
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi All:
Quote:
As the aggrieved party, I believe that I have the choice of weapons - mackerels at two paces. So, sir, prepare yourself for a wet mackerel thrashing unlike any you have ever received in your life. That will teach you to besmirch my honour, sir. Ta ra 'wan, Ieuan "fasted fish in the West" ab Arthur |
|
#26
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Maybe, once they stop laughing, wipe the tears from their eyes, and catch their breath. Snopes and Barbara, I take it you do not read e-mails while you're eating?
|
|
#27
|
||||
|
||||
|
Cool! I'm spreading falsehoods!
|
|
#28
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: This link was sent to me and i tried looking the story up on your
site.. I could not get a match.. Is this yours cover story? http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=63683 |
|
#29
|
||||
|
||||
|
No fair! *I* wanna spread falsehoods. You *always* get to spread the falsehoods! *pouts*
|
|
#30
|
||||
|
||||
|
Chloe, you can spread lies if you like. Then all bases are covered.
Seaboe |
|
#31
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: Hello,
I "googled" snopes. The first link brings up snopes.com but if one hits the "Search" key, computer links to a site I've never seen before. And, it does not start with snopes.com . It begins with message.snopes.com/search.php Frankly, it does not look like Snopes, nor do I trust it. You may wish to check yourselves. |
|
#32
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: While checking Snopes for old material on ShoreBank, I got
http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=63179. Some friends try to imply that means Snopes has checked these out but that seems unlikely. What should I infer, if anything, from the seeming misuse of your site? |
|
#33
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi All:
Quote:
I'll have you know, sir, that there is no "seeming" to it. For your information, I've been misusing this website for nearly five years now. For your inference, you, sir, shall be hearing from my lawyer. Ta ra 'wan, Ieuan "Suey" ab Arthur |
|
#34
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: Thanks for what you two do. Amazing. HOWEVER...
You have company! When someone looks up a subject, adding Snopes at the end to get your view...THIS SHOWS UP FIRST from the url: message.snopes.com/ etc. It sure doesn't look like it came from you. Any recourse???? (You web name gets bandied about enough as it is...) |
|
#35
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: i think I just previous to this got directed to a fake snopes,
which demanded several times by username and password. I did not recall having to use a pw to go on the site or find out if something a friend had sent to me was true. I used a common pw of mine, and it kept denying my pw, then my username. finally I ran a google search for Snopes, not the item title sent by my friend. And I got to this site. So IS THERE A MALICIOUS OR OTHERWISE DANGEROUSE FAKE SNOPES SITE THAT I SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARY OF AND WHAT DO I DO NEXT IF ANSWER IS YES? |
|
#36
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi All:
Quote:
What should you do next? Sign up for the ULMB and join the fun, of course ![]() Ta ra 'wan, Ieuan "Malicious delicious" ab Arthur |
|
#37
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: This morning I was doing some backgrounding on the Breitbart -
Sherrod affair. I Googled "Pigford vs Glickman" and their third entry was "Pigford vs. Glickman - snopes.com". When I went to that page, I found a display of American flags and text which began "Andrew Breitbart is a media genius." A bit unusual for you folks, to say the least. I closed that page and went to your website, Snopes.com, and again did a search for "Pigford vs. Glickman". I received your standard negative response: "Sorry, no matches were found containing Pigford vs Glickman." To my way of thinking this seems to be "credentialed fraud" and clearly was something you should know about. |
|
#38
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment:
What is going on with this site? I entered a search for Pigford v. Glickman, which connected me to one of your usual pages, which had a story related to the subject. However, when I clicked on it for more detail, it sent me to a page filled with stupid pumpkins! When I went back to the home page to search again, I was told there was no match for Pigford v. Glickman! Also nothing for Shirley Sherrod! Is there some sort of cover-up going on? |
|
#39
|
||||
|
||||
|
Let's go with "yes" on that.
|
|
#40
|
||||
|
||||
|
Comment: What exactly is this website? Does it have anything to do with
you? Is it true or false? http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=56900 |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| People who don't get the concept | snopes | We've Got Mail | 220 | 21 March 2013 08:20 PM |
| How not to get on this message board | snopes | We've Got Mail | 222 | 16 February 2013 05:14 PM |
| People who don't get the concept of '404 page' | snopes | We've Got Mail | 5 | 27 November 2011 07:35 PM |
| Accessing the archived message board (msgboard.snopes.com) | Morrigan | Technical Questions | 14 | 21 February 2007 04:44 PM |