snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Horrors

Old 20 July 2010, 08:47 PM

Icon605 Black Friday bladder explosion

Comment: My daughter heard at school:

A woman's bladder exploded. The woman did not go to the bathroom when she
needed to. She was in line for a very long time in order to get a
fantastic deal on "Black Friday" after Thanksgiving.
Old 20 July 2010, 09:04 PM

I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on tv, but I would think that one would simply pee their pants if their bladder had reached capacity and couldn't hold anymore. I don't even know if bladders are capable of bursting simply from the pressure of built up urine, but I would think some sort of blockage would need to be involved for it to even be plausible.
Old 20 July 2010, 09:11 PM

I'm pretty sure one would pass out from the pain and then involuntarily urinate once passed out.
Old 20 July 2010, 09:14 PM

I have a vague memory of hearing that Tycho Brahe, Syphillitic Astronomer died from an exploding bladder. In the interests of folklore, I shall repeat my vague recollection here before trying to look it up.

No matter how he died, his silver nose must have been pretty cool. Or it might have been if it hadn't been covering a festering sore where his real nose should have been, I suppose.

(I didn't make it up, but these days he's thought to have died from mercury poisoning it seems. Either way, his urinary tract was apparently blocked for over a week before his death. If he had that problem and syphillis, and yet still managed to die from a completely unrelated and equally unpleasant cause, then I can't say I envy him. Except for the silver nose - perhaps I should get one anyway. You surely don't need to have syphillis to wear one.)
Old 20 July 2010, 09:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syllavus View Post