snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Horrors

Old 12 March 2007, 03:08 AM

Icon81 Death by salamander

Comment: My daughters love your show and I
was talking to them the other day about a rumor I heard many years ago
while surving at Ft. Bragg when I was a soldier. The myth goes like this.

A soldier was dared to eat a salamander whole and alive. you know just
swollow it. Which he did. A couple of days later the soldier went on sick
call due to severe pain in his stomach and side. when he was x-rayed it
was found that the salamander was still alive and eating himself free.

Any truth to this myth and can the salamander survive this type of
enviroment?
Old 12 March 2007, 03:11 AM

I would think that the harsh environment of the stomach would be especially harmful to amphibians due to their permeable skins.
Old 12 March 2007, 03:42 AM

Here I thought this would have something to do with one of my favorite snopesters. I was worried for a second!
Old 12 March 2007, 03:48 AM

I categorically state that I have not now, or at any time in the past been swallowed whole by another man and then commenced to eat my way out of him (which, quite frankly, sounds like a kinky sex act).

As a once owner of an axolotl and an animal lover in general, I can certainly hope that anyone attempting to eat a live axolotl chokes and dies in a terribly painful manner. In fact I'll go on record as stating that I hope anyone involved in inflicting cruelty upon any animal for any reason (and particularly on something as stupid as a "dare") dies slowly, preferably in a fire.
Old 12 March 2007, 02:28 PM

Not to memtioned plenty of salamanders are poisonous. I imagine it would be quite painful. Hah, serves anyne who eats 'em right. Poor little guys.
Old 12 March 2007, 02:38 PM