snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Old Wives' Tales

Old 27 March 2008, 06:35 AM

Default Pouring hot water on a burn?

The other day some friends were visiting, one of which is into natural medicine. When mrs. callee burned her hand on the oven, this friend insisted that contrary to popular belief, pouring hot water on the burn was the best way to care for it. This sounded suspiciously like an old wives' tale to me, but I haven't been able to find anything about it, and it's not on the main site. So, any one up for a debunking?
Old 27 March 2008, 06:39 AM

What I have heard is lukewarm. Essentially, you are wanting to take the heat out of the burn, but you shouldn't use water that is too cold. I suspect that what most people think of as hot water would be too hot by a long way. I usually use plain tap water, but plain tap water here is usually at least 20 degrees C I would guess.

I am not a doctor or medical professional, this is just what I learned in a first aid course

me
Old 27 March 2008, 06:41 AM

I think that sounds like about the stupidest "treatment" I've ever heard, including ear candling or those "toxin drawing" footpads.
Old 27 March 2008, 06:48 AM
KKHB

I have heard this as a treatment/old wives tale for treating sunburn as well. The advice I got from my relatives (real life old wives ) for an extensive sunburn was to bathe in water as hot as I could stand it to "spread" the burn which would then apparently have no place to go but out I guess. *shrug* These same women also believed in a great many voo-doo practices so I always took their treatment advice with a grain of salt (which was another home remedy, but not for burns )

In any case, the Mayo clinic says to treat minor burns with cold water.

Quote: