Old 11 September 2007, 08:19 PM

Icon605 Stamps as currency

Comment: I heard a rumor that one can use stamps as "money" to buy things,
and that a crooked politician once saved up enough of his office's free
stamps to buy a car!

Are either of these things true?
Old 11 September 2007, 08:32 PM

Reporter

If it helps, I was just flipping through my L.L. Bean catalog just minutes ago, and they asked not to be sent postage stamps as payment.

IIRC, when I worked as a grocery clerk, we were taught that pstage stamps were legal tender. I'm off to google this.

/anecdotal evidence
Old 11 September 2007, 08:36 PM

Somewhere I remember hearing that in the late 19th century, it was common for a while in some places to use stamps glued to cardboard as currency.
Old 11 September 2007, 08:54 PM

First of all:

Second: Where exactly do these people think take stamps. What would they do with the stamps once one has paid with them. I've never tried, but I'm guessing the post office doesn't refund stamps.

Third: How inconvenient would that be? Why would anyone save stamps, which have a prefect use in and of themselves, when they could just use money?

Maybe, maybe, this originates from this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S&H_Green_Stamps
Old 11 September 2007, 09:13 PM

Icon605

Quote:
Originally Posted by HollowMan View Post
Why would anyone save stamps, which have a prefect use in and of themselves, when they could just use money?
In the olden days, when most people didn't having checking accounts and money orders as such didn't exist, it was much easier to mail payment in the form of postage stamps than to mail it as specie.

- snopes
Old 11 September 2007, 09:17 PM

Well, it turns up in The Office as a factoid spouted by David Brent:

David Brent: In fact, a postage stamp is legal tender. A bus driver would have to accept that as currency.
Tim: Yeah, that'd happen.
Gareth: Well, if he doesn't, report him.
Tim: Yeah, I'll report him while I'm walking home.