snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Spook Central

Old 28 February 2007, 02:18 AM

Default Tinfoil Hats as a UL

I was making a tinfoil hat last night (well, I was using tinfoil to shield the control cavity of my guitar from electromagnetic interference - same principle) when I started to wonder if there have actually been reliable cites of people using them for real. I mean, it sounds plausible that if someone had schizophrenia they may well use one to shield themself against mind control rays or similar. The only thing is that I work in the mental health field, and have never come across any actual documented occasions where it has really happened. That of course doesn't mean it hasn't happened, because I know I haven't read everything there is to read in the field. I have seen a few websites, but they have mostly seemed tounge in cheek to me.

So, are there reliable cites of people using tinfoil hats to ward off some perceived threat, or is it in fact an UL?

me
Old 28 February 2007, 02:32 AM
jason13

At the risk of propogating another UL, I had a FOAF, who, when off his meds, covered his walls in tin foil to prevent the little red tracking dots from getting in.

But wearing a tin foil hat is something I can easily see a psych patient doing when off their meds. Check out www.raven1.net.
Old 28 February 2007, 03:13 AM

I had never heard of it before the movie "Signs."

Did it exist before then and I was just unaware?
Old 28 February 2007, 03:48 AM

Icon27

Quote:
Originally Posted by snapdragonfly View Post
I had never heard of it before the movie "Signs."

Did it exist before then and I was just unaware?
I wandered across this website at least a year before I saw Signs.

Last edited by Spam & Cookies-mmm; 28 February 2007 at 03:50 AM. Reason: Not to mention the little smiley above.
Old 28 February 2007, 04:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spam & Cookies-mmm View Post
I wandered across this website at least a year before I saw Signs.