snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > SLC Central > SLC

Old 06 September 2017, 02:23 AM

Default Is saying "I love you" actually hard?

[I wasn't sure which forum to post this in. Hopefully I picked the right one.]

You know how there's this incredibly common trope in fiction, where two people have been dating but they haven't said "I love you" yet, and it's built up as this huge, scary milestone?

I'm embarrassed to admit it, but I have yet to be in a romantic relationship that's progressed very far, so I have no personal experience to tell me whether this trope is based in reality or not. I've said "I love you" millions of times to friends and family, but never to a significant other, so I'm curious to hear from people with more romantic experience.

Is saying "I love you" for the first time something that people actually fret about? Is it hard to spit out? Does it significantly change your relationship?

Of course, I'm sure the answers will vary from person to person and relationship to relationship. I'm just interested in what people have to say.
Old 06 September 2017, 02:53 AM

Icon07

IME, it's not that hard the first first time. It starts to get harder from the second first time.
Old 06 September 2017, 03:36 AM

It wasn't that hard the first time, but I soon realized it wasn't true. Later, it stayed not too hard. I should tell my wife I love her more often, but it seems to get lost between chasing kids, doing bedtimes, washing dishes, finding out what she did at work, talking about what stuff we need to send in to school now, and then sleeping.
Old 06 September 2017, 03:36 AM

I think you've got something there, Ganz. In my case, it's because I didn't actually have a clue what I was talking about the first time.