snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > SLC Central > Moot Court

Old 02 April 2013, 07:54 PM

Icon97 Mother, 22, sues abortion clinic after doctors 'failed to terminate pregnancy'

An Ohio mother-of-two is suing an abortion clinic after it failed to terminate her pregnancy.

Ariel Knights, 22, and her fiance adore their 'miracle baby' daughter who was born in September. But doctors had originally warned the couple that a medical condition Knights suffers meant her life was at serious risk if they went ahead with the pregnancy.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...pregnancy.html
Old 02 April 2013, 08:04 PM

And the anti-abortion take-away will be that since one risky pregnancy resulted in a healthy baby and mother, that means every risky pregnancy will result in a healthy baby and mother.

I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that "crouch over this trash bag" is SOP for most abortions.
Old 02 April 2013, 08:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenYus234 View Post
I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that "crouch over this trash bag" is SOP for most abortions.
I'm smelling a turd here, indeed. Either she is lying or that "clinic" needs to be shut down.
Old 02 April 2013, 10:25 PM

Quote:

The report said 'positioned her lower body over a trash bag' after she had got onto the couch. There really isn't anything to suggest 'crouching'.
I read it as there having been a plastic bag protecting the couch rather than some weird D&C straight into the trash can routine.
I'm not defending the Clinic, if the story is true they fouled up badly, and ought not to have been confused by the double uterus thing.
Old 03 April 2013, 11:06 AM

Quote:
I don't know about abortions but the last few deliveries that I was in the room for, they do put a bio-hazard trash bag under your bottom. I just assumed this was the same.;
Old 03 April 2013, 03:07 PM

I would agree. There is often a plastic barrier or bag of sorts under patients for possibly messy procedures.
Old 03 April 2013, 05:58 PM