snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Non-UL Chat > The Doctor Is In

Old 08 August 2013, 04:47 PM

Default Sudafed vs. sudafed PE

These are two different drugs.

I hear the PE "does not work as well." But could not find any tests.

If I have allergy, I use an antihistamine. But for colds and during air travel I use Sudafed.

If PE does not work as well, can I take 2? The dose is 1.
Old 08 August 2013, 06:11 PM

Glasses

I am not a doctor, but I would never mess with dosage.

Here's the link to the Sudafed page... maybe you can find the information you need.

http://www.sudafed.com/
Old 08 August 2013, 06:33 PM

Taking more won't make it work better. More = better is a very misguided approach to medication.
Old 08 August 2013, 06:39 PM

Some people, including me, find Sudafed PE less effective. There is some science to back this up:

Experts question effectiveness of Sudafed replacement

Some people prefer Sudafed PE because it is less likely to make them jittery.

ETA: That links suggests that higher doses might be more effective, but they have not been tested for safety. I agree messing with dosage is risky, and I'd suggest taking the extra trouble to get the regular Sudafed, assuming it doesn't make you jittery.
Old 08 August 2013, 06:39 PM

"Does not work as well" is subjective. Some people do just fine with the PE (phenylephrine), but others find that pseudoephedrine works better for them. I'm in the latter group. I always buy pseudoephedrine, even though Florida requires me to stand in line at the pharmacy and produce ID to get it.
Old 08 August 2013, 06:43 PM

I think you have to do that in just about every state now. You do in Ohio. At least stores are starting to automate the process, instead of using a handwritten log book.