snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Science

Old 27 May 2007, 04:27 AM

Blow Your Top Smoke alarms require manufacturer-specified battery brand

Comment: I recall a news story that stated a certain brand or brands of
smoke alarms require a specified brand name of battery and that using the
wrong battery brand caused the batteries to either explode or malfunction.
Can you confirm if this is possibly correct?
Old 27 May 2007, 05:22 AM

In my 21 years as an electrician, I have installed many smoke detectors. Most of the units that I am familiar with recommend specific brands and models of replacement batteries (usually Duracell, Eveready, and/or any long-life lithium battery). From my understanding, the recommended batteries are the ones that have been proven in lab and field tests to be the most reliable batteries for the specific model of smoke detector. The use of a non-recommended battery (especially in battery powered units) may cause premature failure of the unit. This is primarily due to many batteries (bargain brands) having an inadequate power rating for the smoke detector in either not being able to provide enough power for the unit to operate (slow discharge rate) or by having a short battery life. I have never heard of a battery exploding while in a smoke detector. However, using non-recommended batteries may cause a smoke detector to malfunction and almost certainly will invalidate the warranty.
Old 27 May 2007, 06:13 AM

Quote:
However, using non-recommended batteries may cause a smoke detector to malfunction and almost certainly will invalidate the warranty.
The warranty is only affected in some jurisdictions. In Sweden, it's not, as it would limit consumer choice.
Old 07 June 2007, 10:07 PM
SALAManda

Smoke detectors use radioactive material to detect smoke: Perhaps some types of battery have substances inside that are also mildly radioactive, affecting the detector's performance?
Old 07 June 2007, 11:50 PM

Whalephant

Quote: