snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > College

Old 25 September 2009, 06:34 PM

Ponder Cement life jackets

Comment: I've heard a rumor that students (possibly from MIT) got ISO 9000
certification for a process to manufacture cement life jackets.

I've done a google search on cement (or concrete) and life jackets (or
life preservers) and found a lot of references to getting certification
for a process to manufacture cement life jackets, but nothing that says it
actually was ever done.

Has it ever actually happened, or is this another example of a cautionary
tale grown to urban legend proportions?
Old 25 September 2009, 07:38 PM

I can't comment on that actual case, but as a quality assurance engineer I can say it is perfectly feasible, albeit absurd. ISO 9000 series accreditation is based on assessment of processes and adherence to processes and not on assessment of product. Basically you can manufacturer crap (or cement lifejackets) and as long as you have a documented set of processes and you follow those processes, you can get ISO 9001 certification.

The cement lifejackets example was quite possibly a way of teaching students the weaknesses of ISO 9000 accreditation - a hypothetical example rather than an actual event. My mentors were a bit more blunt "you can be ISO 9000 accredited and make crap as long as you have and follow procedures for making it". Bottom line is just because you buy a product from an ISO 9000 accredited company, doesn't meant the product is any good.