snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > About This Site > Test Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27 December 2006, 12:39 AM
Spam & Cookies-mmm's Avatar
Spam & Cookies-mmm Spam & Cookies-mmm is offline
 
Join Date: 09 July 2002
Location: Northwest Florida
Posts: 12,864
Default Test registration

I've signed up for a bunch of things this weekend, and I couldn't remember if this new board was one of the ones that require a minimum age of 13.
Just to see what would happen, I started a new registration, using my 11 year old's date of birth.

1st attempt - Used the same address that I am registered under. Was refused.

2nd attempt - Changed the address to my junk address. Was still refused as having an "invalid referrer". I had used my own screen name as the referrer, and allowed the auto-text function to fill in the spelling, so I'm not sure why it was invalid.

3rd attempt - Changed referrer to snopes, and it went through.

You can delete "Spam Jr." from the member list.

Edited to add: after I posted this, I logged out and clicked on the link in the registration email, and was directed to a page that said "invalid user specified" . SO either you've already deleted it, or something else was odd.

Last edited by Spam & Cookies-mmm; 27 December 2006 at 12:43 AM. Reason: noted.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27 December 2006, 01:18 AM
WildaBeast's Avatar
WildaBeast WildaBeast is online now
 
Join Date: 18 July 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 15,447
Icon84

Maybe during this testing phase only people refered by snopes are allowed to register?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 December 2006, 01:31 AM
Noemi's Avatar
Noemi Noemi is offline
 
Join Date: 23 February 2002
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 9,470
Default

I didn't list anyone as having referred me and I didn't have a problem registering.

Noemi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 December 2006, 11:54 PM
Richard W's Avatar
Richard W Richard W is offline
 
Join Date: 19 February 2000
Location: High Wycombe, UK
Posts: 26,030
Default

My only problem with registering was that the first time I tried to type the characters from the box, I could hardly see what they were, and got them wrong. I know they're designed not to be machine readable, but in this case, apparently they weren't human readable either...

That might have been because I'm slightly colourblind, perhaps. The second chance gave a different style of lettering, and I had no trouble with that one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 January 2007, 12:02 AM
Sara@home's Avatar
Sara@home Sara@home is offline
 
Join Date: 18 March 2004
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 12,468
Default

I had the same problem with the characters in the box. I missed it the first time. I had a letter on top of a number and I couldn't tell if the number was an 8 or a 6. I guess it was a 6 because 8 didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 January 2007, 12:37 AM
tagurit's Avatar
tagurit tagurit is offline
 
Join Date: 24 March 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 14,057
Default

Ditto on missing the characters in the box first go. One of the characters was too light for me to make out if it was a 6 or a G.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.