snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > SLC Central > SLC

Old 01 August 2013, 10:37 PM

Crash I got hit by a car today

I went to run an errand at lunch time today. As I was biking back to work I stopped at a traffic light, in the lane going straight ahead. There was an old lady stopped beside me in the right turn only lane. When the light turned green I started riding towards the bike lane on the opposite side of the intersection. The old lady also went straight ahead even though she was in the right turn lane and drove right into the back of me.

I'm not sure if the lady who hit me was actually cited for going straight from the right turn lane, but the police officer who came out said he's going to have her driving privileges reviewed. In his opinion she probably shouldn't be driving anymore. I might be called to testify at that hearing.

My injuries were surprisingly minor, pretty much just a scrapped knee and a bruised elbow. I imagine she was driving in typical little old lady fashion and going really slowly, so I pretty much just got knocked over. The bike didn't fare quite as well. The rear wheel is completely bent out of shape. That looks like the only damage, but I might use this as an excuse to upgrade to a nice road bike anyway.

I know I'm probably reinforcing a lot of people's opinions that riding on the road is dangerous. Still, I've always heard that getting from behind by someone going the same direction as you is actually the least likely form of accident. If you think about it, if that happens it means the driver really screwed up. I just happened to be the victim of someone who really screwed up.

Last edited by WildaBeast; 01 August 2013 at 11:06 PM.
Old 01 August 2013, 11:02 PM

Eek. Glad you came out of that only bruised a bit.
Old 01 August 2013, 11:04 PM

No, it sounds like she was definitely in the wrong.

I'm glad you're okay!
Old 01 August 2013, 11:12 PM

Yikes! Glad you weren't seriously hurt.
Old 01 August 2013, 11:14 PM