snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > SLC Central > Rantidote

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 28 December 2017, 02:11 PM
Lainie's Avatar
Lainie Lainie is offline
 
Join Date: 29 August 2005
Location: Suburban Columbus, OH
Posts: 74,331
Default

I can honestly say Google has never nagged me. Yet.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 28 December 2017, 02:21 PM
DawnStorm's Avatar
DawnStorm DawnStorm is offline
 
Join Date: 11 March 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 16,406
Roll eyes

I keep getting prompts to activate, turn on, use, etc the Google Assistant. It's easy! All I have to do is say something--ask and I shall receive!
Now I like the other Google features: Docs, Drive, Gmail, but I really do not need an assistant, and yes I do wonder about security. I also don't see the need to be constantly logged in. YMMV.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 28 December 2017, 02:31 PM
dfresh dfresh is offline
 
Join Date: 11 November 2005
Location: Oxford, PA
Posts: 4,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnStorm View Post
Google, I do not need an assistant! Shut up and go away!
Clippy will make his grand return sometime.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 28 December 2017, 02:49 PM
Esprise Me's Avatar
Esprise Me Esprise Me is offline
 
Join Date: 02 October 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,721
Default

Clippy was cute, if not remotely helpful. Sometimes I miss the days when my computer really had no idea what I was doing or what to do about it. I haven't turned on Google Assistant either, though it keeps trying, but I know in the long run resistance is futile because everyone else's devices will be surveilling me at all times; I might as well get the benefits.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03 January 2018, 04:25 PM
Kermor Kermor is offline
 
Join Date: 22 June 2012
Location: Bois d'Arcy, France
Posts: 349
France

Dear tablet, when I want to write in english, that's because I'm writing on a english forum. So I don't want to see the english words I use being replaced by french words, and having to to delete them and start all over again. And that goes for you too, smartphone !
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 03 January 2018, 04:58 PM
DawnStorm's Avatar
DawnStorm DawnStorm is offline
 
Join Date: 11 March 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 16,406
France

Kermor, is there some kind of toggle that enables you to switch to English?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 03 January 2018, 08:49 PM
jimmy101_again jimmy101_again is offline
 
Join Date: 29 December 2005
Location: Greenwood, IN
Posts: 6,886
Default

Would it really be all that hard to make the cash machine remember that I prefer English over Spanish? Perhaps encode it on the card itself?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 03 January 2018, 08:57 PM
iskinner's Avatar
iskinner iskinner is offline
 
Join Date: 06 May 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy101_again View Post
Would it really be all that hard to make the cash machine remember that I prefer English over Spanish? Perhaps encode it on the card itself?
No it's not. My Golden1 machines remember just that, much to my annoyance when I accidentally switched to Spanish for a bit. And while I could remember enough high school Spanish as well as just recall the layout to get simple cash. I could not do anything more complex, including switching back to English until I sought help from the banks staff.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04 January 2018, 02:46 PM
thorny locust's Avatar
thorny locust thorny locust is offline
 
Join Date: 27 April 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 9,023
Default

Dear Apple:

It would be nice if those instructions on how to use the iPad that come loaded on the iPad as an ibooks document were more complete, or more accurate, or whatever.

After several days of frustratedly tapping on the x in the corner of a safari tab in an attempt to close it, as the instructions indicated; and sometimes succeeding in closing it by swiping left, but sometimes not, because apparently you have to swipe just so; I hunted around online and discovered that tapping on the x will indeed work -- but only if you first tap on the separate tabs indicator at the top of the screen.

Upon reflection, this makes sense, as it probably prevents a lot of accidentally closed tabs. But the basic instructions should have mentioned it, don't you think?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08 January 2018, 01:16 PM
DawnStorm's Avatar
DawnStorm DawnStorm is offline
 
Join Date: 11 March 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 16,406
Icon02

Word, all I want to do is to paste something onto another document--what's with all the choices? Just paste the damn thing!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 08 January 2018, 01:59 PM
thorny locust's Avatar
thorny locust thorny locust is offline
 
Join Date: 27 April 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 9,023
Default

Dear new computer (thanks very much, assorted family!):

I should not have to worry about accidentally doing something that will wind up causing you to remove all my documents from my computer and put them in the Cloud instead. I do not want them in the cloud. I want them here at home, where I know I can get at them whatever my connection is doing.

(The only official Apple document I can find on this appears to assume everything's already in the cloud, and tells you how to turn it off, but that this will then make all your docs seem to disappear and you'll have to download them from the cloud again. Which can apparently take quite a long time. I think that as long as I don't give the new setup an apple ID it stays inactivated; but I don't know whether using the ID in some other fashion -- such as to get the full iPad manual -- might also feed it to iCloud.)
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 08 January 2018, 02:49 PM
Seaboe Muffinchucker's Avatar
Seaboe Muffinchucker Seaboe Muffinchucker is offline
 
Join Date: 30 June 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 18,341
Glasses

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnStorm View Post
Word, all I want to do is to paste something onto another document--what's with all the choices? Just paste the damn thing!
Some of us like all the choices.

Seaboe
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 08 January 2018, 03:19 PM
Lainie's Avatar
Lainie Lainie is offline
 
Join Date: 29 August 2005
Location: Suburban Columbus, OH
Posts: 74,331
Default

Yes. It matters to me whether the text is copied in its original format or in the format of the destination document, for example.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11 January 2018, 08:05 PM
Die Capacitrix's Avatar
Die Capacitrix Die Capacitrix is offline
 
Join Date: 03 January 2005
Location: Kanton Luzern, Switzerland
Posts: 3,288
Default

Dear cash machines outside of Switzerland,

If you want to display a different language, perhaps try asking which language the user would like? German is not the only language in Switzerland, and I do understand English and would prefer it.

(Strangely this was only a problem in Scotland and England. The cash machines in most countries either give me a choice or only had the local language.)
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11 January 2018, 11:39 PM
thorny locust's Avatar
thorny locust thorny locust is offline
 
Join Date: 27 April 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 9,023
Default

Semi-dear new iPad,

Why, oh why, will Pages not load, whatever I do?

Not-as-dear-as-you-used-to-be-Apple:

Why, oh why, when I search you for various permutations and wordings of why isn't pages loading, do you keep giving me instead instructions for how to use pages on an ipad if only it would do so?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 13 January 2018, 01:11 PM
DawnStorm's Avatar
DawnStorm DawnStorm is offline
 
Join Date: 11 March 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 16,406
Icon02

Google, I believe we talked about this: no one cares that I was in the Costco yesterday! No I am not posting a photo and providing a review!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 19 January 2018, 01:05 AM
mbravo's Avatar
mbravo mbravo is offline
 
Join Date: 29 December 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,242
Default

This is sort of a "left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing" thing.

I use the samsung health app to keep track of my sleep and most of my activity during the day. (I don't have a fitbit or other device, so it only tracks when I"m carrying or holding the phone, but I'm okay with it underestimating or underrepresenting my activity to some degree).

The thing is even though both these tools are part of the same app, they aren't in any way synced with each other. So despite the app knowing (well, "knowing") I go to bed between 9:15 and 9:45 95% of the time, I get notifications at like 8:30 encouraging me with "You've made your activity goal for the day with plenty of time to spare! Want to step it up? (button appears to schedule an activity for later)"

Umm, health app, you're not supposed to do cardio within 2 hours of bedtime!!! Are you trying to sabotage me???


(It doesn't actually bother or upset me- I get that it's just programmed to say that if you've met your goal before, like, 11pm- I mostly just think it's funny. I think on one late-staying-up night I even got the text at like 10:30. Really???)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 19 January 2018, 12:14 PM
thorny locust's Avatar
thorny locust thorny locust is offline
 
Join Date: 27 April 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 9,023
Default

Dear Mac 10.13.2,

There is supposed to be a difference between 'sleep', 'restart', and 'shut down'. If I ask you to do the first, you should not be substituting one of the others.

(This is apparently a known bug that may, a number of people are hoping, be fixed in the next update.)
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 25 January 2018, 11:14 AM
mbravo's Avatar
mbravo mbravo is offline
 
Join Date: 29 December 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,242
Default

Laptop- why did it take fifteen minutes from waking you out of hibernate mode to be able to open a folder, open a pdf in that folder, and then print that pdf?

*sigh* At least I wasn't in a rush yet....

m "needs to clean up this machine" bravo
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01 February 2018, 05:35 PM
DawnStorm's Avatar
DawnStorm DawnStorm is offline
 
Join Date: 11 March 2003
Location: Montgomery County, MD
Posts: 16,406
Jaded

MS Word, contractions are legitimate words--there is no reason to flag them and suggest the two original words! I know that contractions are normally not used in formal writing, but not everything I write is formal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Things you shouldn't have to tell yourself DawnStorm Rantidote 850 20 July 2018 09:40 PM
Things you shouldn't have to tell your pet Psihala SLC 334 03 August 2017 02:11 AM
Things you shouldn't have to tell people DawnStorm Rantidote 1002 16 January 2016 07:34 AM
Things you shouldn't have to tell yourself smittykins Rantidote 1014 16 March 2015 11:49 PM
Things you shouldn't have to tell your pet Victoria J Wild Kingdom 1004 30 January 2014 06:43 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.