snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Politics

Old 09 June 2009, 05:02 PM

Military Big brother is WATCHING me and YOU!!

Comment: This was passed along to me by the U.S. Concealed Carry Assoc association. This one is for you Veterans. I have never heard of this before, but I thought it was important enough to pass along here.

"I had a doctors appointment at the local V A clinic yesterday and found something very interesting I would like to pass along.. While going through triage before seeing the doctor, I was asked at the end of the exam, three questions.

(1. Did I feel stressed?)
(2. Did I feel threatened?)
(3. Did I feel like doing harm to someone?)

The nurse then informed me, if I had answered yes to any of the questions, I would have lost my concealed carry permit as it would have gone into my medical records and the V A would have reported
it to Homeland Security.

I am a Viet Nam vet and 15 year cc permit holder. Looks like they are going after us vets."

Be forewarned and be aware. The Obama administration has gone on record as considering veterans and gun owners as potential terrorists. If you are a veteran, you've been warned. If you know veterans, please pass this on to them.
Old 09 June 2009, 05:06 PM

The VA cannot just reveal that information to a government agency, or to anybody else, for that matter, without the patient's consent, except in very limited circumstances, and I don't think a three-question mini-mental status exam is going to qualify.

Also, what does Homeland Security have to do with the issuance of CCW permits, since CCW permits are issued by states?
Old 09 June 2009, 05:08 PM