snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Sports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:19 PM
snopes's Avatar
snopes snopes is offline
 
Join Date: 18 February 2000
Location: California
Posts: 109,660
Baseball Winning and losing pitcher in same game

Comment: I have heard that there was once a pitcher that, due to a rain
delay lasting a few weeks and a trade to the opposing team, was listed as
both the winning and losing pitcher for a baseball game. I have no idea
the teams or even the year, it's always different. But it would be
plausable, just not probable. Do you know if it's true?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:20 PM
snopes's Avatar
snopes snopes is offline
 
Join Date: 18 February 2000
Location: California
Posts: 109,660
Japan

Whether such an outcome is possible is pondered here:

http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-b...0070715wg.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:22 PM
Mr. Furious's Avatar
Mr. Furious Mr. Furious is offline
 
Join Date: 13 January 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,141
Baseball

This page has a nice discussion of it, and it jibes with my initial thoughts on the matter.

At first blush, I would think that 3.03 wouldn't apply to that situation. It would be umpire discretion at that point, and I think that the umpires would consider the pitcher in question to be a "different player," as it were. The rule is vague enough, though, to allow the umpiring crew to prevent the pitcher from "re-entering" the game.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:31 PM
snopes's Avatar
snopes snopes is offline
 
Join Date: 18 February 2000
Location: California
Posts: 109,660
Baseball

The gist of is that such a scenario can only occur through an official scorer's decision -- and how likely is it that an official scorer would decide that the winning pitcher should be the same guy who's officially the losing pitcher? I would think most official scorers would bend over backwards to avoid creating that outcome.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:41 PM
Mr. Furious's Avatar
Mr. Furious Mr. Furious is offline
 
Join Date: 13 January 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snopes View Post
The gist of is that such a scenario can only occur through an official scorer's decision -- and how likely is it that an official scorer would decide that the winning pitcher should be the same guy who's officially the losing pitcher? I would think most official scorers would bend over backwards to avoid creating that outcome.
In the scenario described, though, the rules in place would remove the official scorer from the decision, wouldn't they? That is, if the pitcher gave up the go-ahead runs in the top of the inning in which the game was suspended, and then came into the game in the bottom of the inning (post-suspension) and held the lead, then he would be on the hook for both the loss and the win.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 August 2009, 03:45 PM
snopes's Avatar
snopes snopes is offline
 
Join Date: 18 February 2000
Location: California
Posts: 109,660
Baseball

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Furious View Post
In the scenario described, though, the rules in place would remove the official scorer from the decision, wouldn't they?
As I understand the scenario as described, the Yankees used three pitchers, the second of whom (Farnsworth) could have been awarded the win (since he left the game with his team still in the lead).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.