snopes.com  

Go Back   snopes.com > Urban Legends > Fauxtography

Old 29 September 2008, 04:15 AM
Lady Luzhin

Icon22 Woman with removed ribs?

http://www.snopes.com/photos/people/smallwaist.asp

I'm no doctor, but I think if you had your ribs removed, it would damaged the organ if you were to wear the tight tops this woman does. Looks painful.
Old 29 September 2008, 04:33 AM

That's Cathie Jung. She hasn't had any ribs removed, she's just a very dedicated practioner of corsetry.

http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com/...ng_person.aspx

She has the world record for the smallest waist on a living person.
Old 29 September 2008, 04:47 AM

Is that safe?

And can anyone do it, or do you have to...I don't know, work up to it?
Old 29 September 2008, 04:52 AM

It takes years of training in successively tighter and tighter corsets to get to that point, but it is theoretically possible by anyone.

As for whether or not it's 'safe'.... it certainly doesn't look comfortable or healthy, but Cathie is in her 70s and she's been doing it for decades at least, so it can't be TOO bad for you...
Old 04 October 2008, 10:31 PM
Irene

TV

Wasn't this the same woman that was on Oprah earlier this (or maybe last) year? I think they mentioned that her organs weren't damaged, but her rib cage had shifted and become closer to her body, and, her intestines and stomach were so squished by the corset that they had moved down to her pelvic area, giving her a somewhat bloated look. I assume this is the same person?
Old 05 October 2008, 01:32 PM

I've always sort of liked the Victorian corseted look, but this is different. She just looks wrong to me. Maybe it's the difference in clothes? And, of course, most Victorian women didn't take it to that extreme.
Old 05 October 2008, 03:49 PM

I wonder if she ever had babies.
Old 05 October 2008, 04:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BatmanBeatles View Post
I wonder if she ever had babies.