![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
|
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
marryyourdaughter.com would be worse
|
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
The site claims it's legal because girl's can marry from the age of 13 if they have parental consent. Can anyone verify this to be the case?
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
For the USA:- Quote:
|
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Sorry, I read that as marr your daughter.
Aside from the age of these girls disturbing me, I'm also perturbed by the "Bride Price". Is this a slave trade or what? And who in their right mind would submit their daughters on this website? |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
WTF? Where's this bride price come from? I mean, I remember the ancient concept of 'dowry', but isn't this the opposite of that? How is that anything other than slavery?
Y'know almost every time someone's posted something like this I've come back and said 'this can't be real, it's too over the top'. I hope this is some kind of weird and sad joke. |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
this may be my connection but the site keeps giving me a 503 error. however it does work sometimes - keep trying.
oh, and:
|
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Private registered domain. This feels like viral marketing to me. The "list your daughter" piece takes anything. I filled the blanks with random letters and was greeted with "Thank you, your listing has been sucessfully processed." I didn't monkey with the "propose" link but I'll bet it's similar.
The testimonials are over the top. The link on the side bar is legit to the Katrina relief fund. Gibbie ETA: Ewwww someone in the comments about this at Museum of Hoaxes pointed out that in teeny tiny font just below the copyright information is the following: Quote:
Last edited by snopes; 05 September 2007 at 04:44 PM. Reason: more info |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
The testimonials look a bit suspect, I wouldn't be surprised if it's just an internet hoax, or something someone threw together that they thought would be funny.
|
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
That's what I thought it was at first.
|
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
There is a comment just underneath it that says this: Quote:
More than likely that website is a hoax. |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Or it's the FBI.
ETA:smokinggun.com has a page about Wicked Adventures, which advertised sex tours, and was run by the FBI: Quote:
Last edited by Mateus; 05 September 2007 at 04:54 PM. |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
But the metatags should actually be metadata, and therefore not visible on the page.
|
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
The whois also states that the domain was created less than two months ago, making the large number of "testimonials" from happy customers seem a bit suspect, and they are so over the top that I find it hard to believe that this could even be an attempt at an FBI sting. I noticed the metatags when I viewed the source code--it seems to be a common practice for questionable sites to use this trick as a way of driving traffic to their site, even using tags that may have nothing to do with them.
|
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Some SEO analysts have been suggesting that major search engines ignore metadata in the metatag, since it has been abused in the past, and instead recommend key words are placed in the body of the text invisibly - text colour the same as background colour, rather than in a metatag. The spider reads it, the casual user can't see it. I think that the site a jape of some kind. |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Same here!
|
|
#18
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
In Massachusetts people under 18 may not marry without the consent of a court, even if they have parental permission. Four Kitties |
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
I hope it's a fake. The testimonials page seems a bit off so it just has to be fake......
Quote:
The last message if it's real is just about heart breaking. PS If it's for real then
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|