snopes.com

snopes.com (http://message.snopes.com/index.php)
-   Questionable Quotes (http://message.snopes.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Did Aristotle say "no great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness"? (http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=93375)

Mr. Billion 21 January 2016 06:54 PM

Did Aristotle say "no great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness"?

You can find a lot of quotes-mining Web sites attributing this quotation to Aristotle: https://duckduckgo.com/?q=%22no+grea...sted%22&t=ffsb

But I haven't yet been able to find one that actually says where or when Aristotle supposedly said it.

I'm no Aristotle expert, but to me it doesn't sound like something he would have said. From the way he wrote, he always seemed to me like a pretty serious kind of guy. I guess this quote could fit in with his idea of the "golden mean", but the quotation doesn't appear in either of his works on ethics, where he articulated it.

He wrote the Eudemian Ethics and Nicomachean Ethics, and neither of them speaks positively about madness.

Steve 21 January 2016 07:46 PM

Seneca attributed it to him in On the Tranquility of Mind. so either Seneca made it up, or it's from a lost work.

Tootsie Plunkette 21 January 2016 07:59 PM

Well, according to Google Translate, it's more likely that he said "κανένα μεγάλο μυαλό έχει υπάρξει ποτέ χωρίς μια δόση τρέλας" -- but who knows if that's correct either (see translated Christmas Carol thread).

Brad from Georgia 21 January 2016 08:43 PM

I thought it was "Οι άνθρωποι έχουν ανάγκη να πιστεύουν σε κάτι . Πιστεύω ότι θα έχω μια άλλη μπύρα."

UEL 22 January 2016 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tootsie Plunkette (Post 1903977)
Well, according to Google Translate, it's more likely that he said "κανένα μεγάλο μυαλό έχει υπάρξει ποτέ χωρίς μια δόση τρέλας" -- but who knows if that's correct either (see translated Christmas Carol thread).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad from Georgia (Post 1903983)