snopes.com

snopes.com (http://message.snopes.com/index.php)
-   Fauxtography (http://message.snopes.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Fun with trolleys (http://message.snopes.com/showthread.php?t=13248)

Little Galaxy 27 July 2007 11:49 AM

Fun with trolleys

A friend sent me this - the filename was "someonesgoingtoloveworktomorrow":

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2006-...2/trolleys.JPG

I'm not sure whether this is physically possible, but stranger things have been done!

Andrew of Ware 27 July 2007 01:19 PM

Superb! :) I hope it's a real photo, but I am not a Photoshop expert.

I imagine that if you can arrange trolleys like that then it would be possible to 'unarrange' them. I suppose the last trolley was put in the circle and then the spaces between the others was evened out. To undo them I suppose the supermarket would have to scrunch up all the trolleys until one trolley is freed.

Sis 27 July 2007 01:52 PM

Applied Geometry- Robert Wechsler.

About 1/4 of the way down the page.

forcadragons 27 July 2007 02:27 PM

When shopping trolleys are inserted into each other, there is a certain amount of "give", meaning that one trolley is not facing exactly the same direction as the next. Point each trolley to the right of the next and this allows you to bend a long line of trolleys into an arc. There will be a minimum radius that the arc can have limited by the amount of "give". The picture shows a large radius circle, so it's entirely possible, I would say. You just need enough trolleys and insert the front of the last trolley into the back of the first.

Andrew of Ware 27 July 2007 03:16 PM

I have seen workers at supermarkets pushing a long of trolleys and even with straps to keep the trolleys straight they are always bending one way or the other.